The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2009, 10:11 AM

stumpy041486 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie needs help!

Hey

I am a hardcore trophy bass fishermen on rod and reel, but I am really new to fly fishing. I would like to start fly fishing in a small creek or river that holds small bass and sunfish. I have fly fished in a pond with a spider type fly for bluegill after they were fed, but that is the extent of my fly fishing. Any ideas on what I should fish with in these small creeks and rivers? I also need to know the technique to fish. These are the beuts that I am after with a fly rod.

Click the image to open in full size.

Thanks
Old 06-23-2009, 11:57 AM

rmooney is just really nicermooney is just really nicermooney is just really nicermooney is just really nice
Default Re: Newbie needs help!

i caught a decent sunfish the other day, too bad it was the only fish i caught! my searching fly is almost always a bead head wooly bugger under a gurgler or foam spider.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0668.jpg (91.6 KB, 98 views)
Old 06-23-2009, 01:34 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute

Hey Stumpy welcome to the forum--- and to fly fishing.