The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2006, 11:30 AM

Sergeant will become famous soon enoughSergeant will become famous soon enough
Thumbs up Carp!

I have been fishing for the "ugly fish" or carp for three years now. I happend to be biking and saw some carp mucking in the shallows of a creek I fished as a kid, and quickly got my fly rod - a "Fair Play" combo from Cortland and tied on black ant fly. Sneaking up on the muching carp I dropped the ant in front of them and proceeded to hook one that broke the tip of my rod then the leader. Now I look for carp and fish for them with crazy anticipation of catching a personal best. I have used wooley buggers, ants, and corn on a small hook with good success and was wondering what others have used, and if anyone is as hooked on fishing for these fish as I am! I live in Bucks County Pa. and there seems to be no shortage of these fish around here. I catch them and feed them to the stream bank in hopes of letting other game fish prosper. Carp are now on my hit list of learning as much as possible on how to catch them w/ a fly. Any feed back will be appreciated.
Old 05-17-2006, 12:01 PM
Prospecting for Trout

Piscator will become famous soon enoughPiscator will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Carp!

Sergeant,
I remember reading that Steelheadrob and BigCliff have caught some carp before on a fly rod. Check this link out. Steelheadrob may know some new patterns for you it seems like.

colorado trip

Laterz,
Terry
Old 05-17-2006, 12:30 PM

fshfanatic will become famous soon enough

I cast for slurping pods of carp all the time. I have caught them up to 20lbs +.

Long casts and stealth are the key here. I have caught them on dries. Small stimulators, hoppers, ants, etc.

They are a hoot.
Old 05-17-2006, 12:35 PM