The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2006, 03:01 PM

OIIIIIO is on a distinguished road
Question Leader/tippet Combo

Hello everyone,
I'm new to both this site and fly fishing. I just started about a month ago and haven't touched a spinning combo since. I bought a combo rod/reel that came preloaded with backing/flyline and leader, but I suspect that it was put together for trout. I've lost a lot of nice bass due to line breaks with this leader and the replacement leader that I bought. The sporting goods store only had one type to pick from. Are there any recommendations on what I should be using as far as leader and tippet? What lengths should they be for most conditions? I'll probably have to order online since there aren't any flyshops in my area.

The gear I'm using is a 9' 5/6 midflew rod with 9' 6x tapered leader. The rest I'm unsure of. I've been having a lot of luck using poppers but may try some fly minnows to see how they go. Nothing like having a big bass hitting at the surface though.
Old 08-11-2006, 04:21 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Leader/tippet Combo

Welcome to the group and the sport!

6x!? There's your problem. That's on the light side of trout gear there. Get some 8' 8lb bass leaders and you'll be much better off. www.thefullcreel.com can set ya up right with leaders and such.