The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Warmwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   Water logged fly? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/1742-water-logged-fly.html)

handtie 03-04-2007 01:31 AM

Water logged fly?

Ok I have been lurking around for sometime now and thought tonight I would chime in with a simple question.

I am fairly new to Fly'n and Enjoy it very much. I make my own flies. The prespawn for Bass in Oroville Lake is about to start. I created (I think) cool crawdad fly. Complete with a tail and pinchers. I used some pipe cleaners for the body on a 2/0 or maybe 1/0 (not sure now) straight shank hook. Problem is that after it gets in the water the body becomes water logged to the point that it is diffcult to cast. And when it hits the water it actually make a hard body lure splash. lol But It looks so dang real in the water I just love it. When the bass move into shore it will be on! But till then I need to get it out pretty good.

My question:
Being as this is my first attempt to fly fish does all bass type flyes act like this? If not can someone explain why it is taking on so much water? I attached a picture of it so you can see it. When it is dry it flies just great. But when wet very hard to get out there. I have made several other types and they don't do this.

http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/8...dflywn5.th.png

Thanks for your thoughts and I know this may seem like a funny question so I don't mind and jokes about it. :smile:

Thanks

-handtie

makubwa 03-04-2007 02:59 AM

Re: Water logged fly?