The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2007, 10:12 PM

GeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to GeorgeMcFly Send a message via Yahoo to GeorgeMcFly
Default bass,bluegill question...

I went to fish in the river today with a worm and bobber. caught 6 bluegills and a small rock bass right up on shore by the rocks. but there were fish jumping like crazy!!! I am new to fly fishing and wondered if i took my fly rod there and used a bee pattern popper or a beetle or grasshopper or some kind of fly that floats if they will hit it? It would be my 1st fish on a fly. guess i should try it tommorow? wondered what would work best? they were jumping everywhere! I got a grasshopper, a cricket, a hi vis beetle, a damselfly ,2 bee pattern poppers, a white popper with yellow/black tail, a white/grey clouser and a ant with red back. also have nymphs what would be the best to try? I wanna get my 1st catch on a fly rod! i don't know what fish they were. some were huge some were small? maybe crappie bluegills or bass? some steelies and big stuff out there also

owner of the GL Fishing Forum.
Old 05-09-2007, 11:09 PM

GeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: bass,bluegill question...