The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Warmwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   Bass Fishing Around Bonita Springs (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/220616-bass-fishing-around-bonita-springs.html)

bhflyfisher 12-24-2011 01:00 PM

Bass Fishing Around Bonita Springs

I am a complete novice bass fisherman. Never targeted them on gear before, but i would like to try and fool a few on the fly. I have the gear to do it. Just wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction on a place to try around bonita springs. Dont feel the need to post secret spots, although that would be nice, and you could do it through PM. Again just looking for a place where i could catch a few fish to get me started.

Poppers and Streamers i would assume for the green trout?

Thanks guys!

grassonfly 12-24-2011 06:50 PM

Re: Bass Fishing Around Bonita Springs

bigger is better for bass i caught a 6 pound bass on a 12 inch worm so the smallest you want your fly is about 3 inches use frog like poppers around lily pads ive found that matching the hatch is the best for bass no chartreuse in my flies all olive white and black. use heavy tippet with bass because they will tangle you up in all sorts of things

biggie_robs 12-25-2011 12:02 AM

I'm not sure how you could avoid bass down there. They get big, too! I'd use poppers or Chernobyl ants in any water that looks fishy, and hold on.

lancer09 12-27-2011 12:32 AM

Dark day dark fly, Bright day Bright fly. Try some shad patterns and some things like clousers. Don't be afraid to fish a sinking line with a spun dahlberg diver. sneaky peats can take some big bass too. Bass will hit the big stuff, but more often than not I catch them on 2-3 inch flies.

Baitfish imitations are the way to go. Try some gulley, or headstand type worms.