The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2007, 07:18 PM

Ronmc1954 is on a distinguished road
Default Trout in a near by lake.

I have been thinking about a small lake close to me here in NE Nebaraska. They stock it with trout quite often, I believe mainly for ice fishing in the winter. I never hear about fly fishing for them, if I were to try what should I use in mid summer. Toward one end there is what appears to be quite a lot of fresh cool spring water feeding this small lake. I am rather new to fly fishing and this lake is the only water that has trout, close by. I have had a great time with Bass and Bluegill, but I have never caught a trout on any type of tackle. Any suggestions are appreciated.
Ron Mc
Old 08-01-2007, 08:07 PM

OregonStreams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trout in a near by lake.

Hi Ron.... You can cover a lot of water with sometype of floating device, with oars, and drag clear sinking line with a wooly bugger for starters. I use a square ended canoe with oar locks and a 2hp motor.
Old 08-01-2007, 08:33 PM

Ronmc1954 is on a distinguished road

Thanks Oregon, I would be using a kayak to get around. If I understand your responce I should go "deep" for these trout.
Ron Mc
Old 08-02-2007, 12:37 AM

OregonStreams is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronmc1954 View Post
Thanks Oregon, I would be using a kayak to get around. If I understand your responce I should go "deep" for these trout.
Ron Mc