The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 10:14 PM

aquaticsanonymous is on a distinguished road
Default river smallmouth advice

What's your go to smallmouth fly/technique? I am just getting started and caught some smaller smallmouth on a clouser minnow. I havent gotten any takes on black woolybuggers. Do you fish with sinking line, or floating line?
Old 05-28-2012, 12:38 AM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: river smallmouth advice

My line depends on what I plan to use. I use an intermediate sinking line and a clouser a lot. I also use a floating line and poppers. Early in the year that's not the best plan. Wait for the water to warm up before you do that. Later in the season a leach pattern can be killer. There are spots with rocks or cement next to deeper water that might not have a fish anywhere near them in the daytime that will have fish on them after dark. The best way to learn about what to do in your area is to just fish it a lot.
Old 05-28-2012, 10:19 PM

al_a has a spectacular aura aboutal_a has a spectacular aura aboutal_a has a spectacular aura about