The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 02:45 PM

vedavoochris is on a distinguished road
Default New to Bass on the Fly

I am an avid bass fisherman but have never experienced hooking a bass on a fly rod. I am new to fly fishing in general so I am salivating over the thought of hooking a smallie/ bucket mouth on a fly rod.

I have a 5 weight so I am good in that department but what I really want to learn is what I should be throwing in terms of flies. If you could only take 5 flies with you to try and hook a bass which flies would you bring?

Cheers!
Old 06-20-2012, 02:49 PM

stl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud of
Default Re: New to Bass on the Fly

Clouser minnow, some sort of crayfish/crawdad whatever you call them, popper of some type, dalhberg diver, and probably Lefty's Deciever. That should cover your fly basics.
Guest1 likes this.

Storm Drain Bonefisher
Old 06-20-2012, 02:52 PM

gatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud ofgatortransplant has much to be proud of

Geoff is right on there, if I had to change anything I might replace one of those with a bugger, but I don't know which I'd replace, as they're all good!

Working out a way to convince my university to allow me to hold my TA office hours on the nearby creek...