The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 10:18 PM

codypom is on a distinguished road
Default Fly Rod recommendations for bass???

Hey all, I am relatively new to fly fishing. I picked up a fly rod at a garage sale this spring because it was dirt cheap and I wanted to give it a try. It is a shakespeare 8' 5/6wt. My wife got me a guided trip on some trout streams as a gift and I have absolutely fallen in love with fly fishing.

I fish mostly in farm ponds and smallish lakes for largemouth bass, as well in a medium size river for smallmouth bass. I have been using clouser minnows (size 2 and 1/0) and BH woolly buggers with some success. I also have some poppers , rabbit divers, and conehead muddlers. When most people think of bass fishermen, they think of huge tackle being thrown in the the brush to drag out the biggest fish possible. Usually I am not that guy, but when I am I have baitcasting gear for that. Fly fishing will fit into my arsenal as more of a finesse approach.

So I am looking for a new rod. My shakespeare is about as thick as my pinky at the butt and the reel locking ring won't stay put, and it is in general a POS. Like I said, I don't want a real heavy rod and don't plan on throwing gigantic flies. I was thinking I would go with a 9' 5 or 6 wt rod. What do ya'll think?

Also, what's the deal on 2 vs. 4 piece? The bass guys look down their noses at it if it isn't 1 piece, but some of the most expensive fly rods are 4 pieces.

As far as $$$ I don't want to spend $300 on a rod, and actually might have a friend who is a builder make me one, he owes me a favor... If anyone is familiar with Batson blanks, I would be looking at one of theirs.

Thank you to anyone who answers, sorry if these are questions that have been asked a million times before.