The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 07:10 PM

cjam93 is on a distinguished road
Default Best line for lake and pond fishing?

Hey guys so I do a majority of my fishing for bass and panfish and pretty much always on a lake or pond. Where I live there aren't any rivers or streams to fish close to my house. Anyways would it be better for me to use floating or sinking line? I am very new to fly fishing and heard floating was better for the beginner, but how low can I actually get a fly if it is on floating line? Also what is a good length to make my leader? thanks guys!
Old 10-14-2012, 09:27 PM

grassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nice
Default Re: Best line for lake and pond fishing?

well if you really want to know a precise number you can use some fluid dynamics and do upthrust vs gravity. realistically you can get a clouser down to about 10 feet. need it further down? up the dumbbell size
Old 10-14-2012, 09:33 PM

Sorry but do you mean 10 ft down while attached to a floating line?
Old 10-14-2012, 10:21 PM

grassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nice

Yes also fluoro leaders get you deeper
Old 10-14-2012, 10:30 PM

Ok awesome thanks!
Old 10-21-2012, 12:38 PM

akruss will become famous soon enough