The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2013, 03:47 PM

gannoli is on a distinguished road
Default Hanging up in Lily Pads

So I'm pretty new to bass on the fly. I love fishing in the weeds and lily pads with my bait caster with 40lb braid so I wanted to try some thing similar with my fly rod. I know I can't pull my fly right across the tops like with my bait caster so I've been trying to fish mainly the edges. Only problem is my accuracy isn't the best so I sometimes land in the pads. When this happens I feel like I hang up in the pads every time even when its only one or two pads. Some of my poppers have weed guards and they still hang up. Does anyone have any advise on avoiding these hang ups or un snagging them easily?
Old 07-09-2013, 04:09 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Hanging up in Lily Pads

Usually I cast into the "pockets" and let my bug sit there as long as possible then give it a little "jiggle" or two. Then I'll tighten up as much as possible on the slack, lift the rod tip up high, and try to skip my bug across the tops of lily pads.
If you're going to retrieve right through the pads it's important to keep the nose up and the slack out and that's done by keeping the rod tip high. It takes some practice.