The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 10:42 PM

delopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the rough
Default Carp difficulties

Fishing carp in muddy water is a pain. Aside from finding a new waterhole, does anyone have any pointers?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
Old 08-09-2013, 11:41 PM

fq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Carp difficulties

Quote:
Originally Posted by delopez View Post
Fishing carp in muddy water is a pain. Aside from finding a new waterhole, does anyone have any pointers?

I have limited experience. I used stone fly nymphs with rubber legs and shiny bead heads (prince nymphs, pheasant tails etc.) and some small bone fish flies. I will say there is a way to up your odds, or so I've heard. Hie thee to Bass Pro or Cabelas etc. Gulp lures are great for spin fishing. I love them. They're rubber baits that soak in a foul smelling goo and they work beautifully. But they now have a spritz bottle of the aforementioned goo. Since carp feed mainly by smell, giving your fly a spritz can't hurt. I've not tried it (yet), but talking to a friend from back up in Indiana he swears by it for smallies and carp. Its only a few bucks and it can't hurt.
Old 08-10-2013, 01:40 AM

rickf is just really nicerickf is just really nicerickf is just really nicerickf is just really nice

I have the same problem! Carp on a Fly are only good in clear, shallow water.

Every time we get heavy rain, the Susquehanna gets brown like chocolate milk! But the local lakes are always clear?