The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 01:21 AM

jason k is on a distinguished road
Default Need Help w/bluegill flies what to make

Hi,
I am picking back up fly fishing after 28 years I was 10-12 years old the last time fly fished now I am 40. Go too Flies on here too find the story about me.Anyways I am from west central Iowa. I am going to only be fishing bluegills for now then move into crappie and trout.. I was wondering what would be a good fies are good for bluegills.I know what I was a kid my dad used a hornbrug alot once and awhile a black wooly bugger both a size 12. I am just starting out making flies I do not need to hard for flies to make right now.I plan on making the hornbrug and the black wooly bugger.What other colors should I tie in the wooly bugger? ..I would like too also know what flies work good with bluegills. I will be fish spooky fish in still waters..( Gravel pits and farm ponds.)

Thank you
Jason
Old 10-11-2013, 01:32 AM

fq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of lightfq13 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Need Help w/bluegill flies what to make