The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2013, 03:15 PM

zum will become famous soon enough
Default Drop flies?

This is normally my best time of year to catch bigger smallmouth/chain pickerel.
Numbers go down but the size makes up for it...this year so far on the number part is normal.
I've tried to mimic bigger suspending jerk baits but that isn't the ticket, so now I find myself reading about drop flies.
I've never used them, even when using conventional tackle so I'm a complete novice.
Yesterday, I tied on some type of small steamer with dumbbell eyes,to a bigger popper I was throwing.It was about 16"s down from the popper,I'd let it sit with little movement other than wave action,in what I thought was high percentage spots.I did manage to part off one pickerel using this method but that was it.
Is this a good fall method or should I be using a fly, instead of a streamer type fly?
Also should I use an indicator instead of a top water fly.?..was thinking that I'd have better chance to land fish with to flies in the water.

I also landed a couple small bass using top water but the top water bit is coming to an end.
Old 10-20-2013, 03:57 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Drop flies?

Hi,