Korean carp?

tangotracer

Reaction score
Hey all!-1st post on this forum!

I'm a soldier stationed in South Korea... And currently I've been hitting some carp rivers with my fly rod. However, I have had absolutely NO luck!

The carp completely ignore my fly and the only hope seems to be me casting the fly literally into their mouth - they act as if the fly nearly touching their face doesn't exist!

I've watched these carp.. And they rise readily and sip down the greenish algae substance released from a drain pipe into the river.. Is the trick just to use an "algae fly"?! Lol

Thanks for any advice!

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum and thanks for your service to our country!

I know virtually nothing about Carp, I have only landed one and that was a Mirror Carp an incidental catch while I was fishing for trout, so I can't provide much help. There are a few members here that fish for Carp all the time, I would suggest sending a PM to Chased, John Montana and Joni. Also do a Google search for John's blog called "Carp on the Fly", he has a lot of information about fishing for Carp on that site.
Here is a post that John put up awhile back:
http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/345347-first-carp-2014-me.html

Here is one of Joni's:
http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/345498-addiction-continues.html

Larry

tangotracer

Reaction score
Thanks guys! I might have found a guy to help me chase down these carp right here on the forum... We will test our luck and hopefully hook into some big ones!

john montana

Reaction score