The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2014, 06:20 PM

stl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud ofstl_geoff has much to be proud of
Default Zero 2 Hero?? A 2014 Muskie Conquest

hello and Welcome!! To another stupidly formed quest of mine. Backstory, there is a lake about 25-30 minutes northwest of me, they stock it with muskie and I own a 10 and 11wt rods. So hey why not!! I have zero background with fishing for these toothy fish, so its been a lot of reading and watching videos. My goals for this lake are poor ( or so I thought ) as they stock 12-14 fish in the fall, one per acre of lake. In the spring they do a shock sampling of them and the biggest they have caught yet was 52" and 47 pounds. However, no one has ever seen one outside of the conservation department workers.

So its spring, the air is slowly warming the air and water and according to reports, the crappie are starting to spawn. Why this is key is because the lake they stock muskie in, is LITTERED with crappie in the 6-9" range. I went to the lake today and it was very low and all the crappie beds and xmas trees were out of the water, mostly, and signs up saying "please do not release crappie of any size ". Obviously they need some to be eaten.

With this knowledge, I tied some big flies, a few that looked to me like crappie and then 1 or 2 in some craziness. After rigging the rods up, it was time to fish.

Click the image to open in full size.