The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By milt spawn
  • 3 Post By silver creek
  • 1 Post By bigjim5589

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 07:29 PM

fieldgrade is on a distinguished road
Default Does this sound right?

New member with my first (but not last) dumb question.
Wasn't sure where to post this but since I mainly target Pan Fish and Smallies I figured this was a good start. If there's a better place in the future let me know.

Anywhooo,,,I've been using a little 8' 4wt Reddington for a few years now but this year I decided to upgrade to a 9' 6wt. Shortly after I got it my friend who's pretty knowledgeable about fly fishing stopped by with a little care package for me with a couple of 3X leaders and some 3X tippet material. Well I had some Orvis credits and wanted to set this rig up with the knotless stuff so I ordered a kit from them specifying my 6wt line. The kit came with the connectors, a five pack of 3X tippets and two 0X tapered leaders. 0X leader is 15.5#'s which seems and looks like an awful lot for my set up. I called the tech at Orvis and he said it's correct because you want to match the smallest di. of the leader to the thickest di. of the tippet. He's the expert I guess but I'd still be interested in yall's point of view.

Thanks, Charlie
Old 08-03-2014, 08:22 PM

milt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does this sound right?