The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nevadanstig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2016, 12:23 PM

jamesdta is on a distinguished road
Default Looking for a rod. Any suggestions?

Hi, I recently picked up a bohemouth 7/8 and I'm looking for a rod around 8'6 6-8 wt. I'm new at the sport, and l looking for a smallie/largemouth rod to use on my frontier 12. I purchased a echo ion 8wt 9' but didn't really care for it. I think 8'6 is my favorite length.
Closest I can find:
loomis shorestalker (8'6) 7wt
Older tfo clouser (8'9) 6wt
Ll beans clearwater ladies rod ? (8'8) 8wt

I now there's a bunch of 7'11 rods out there but I'm afraid they will feel to short. Not really much 8'6 rods

Any more suggestions?

Thanks
Old 02-21-2016, 12:34 PM

nevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud ofnevadanstig has much to be proud of
Default Re: Looking for a rod. Any suggestions?

Do you have fly shops around your area? Its best to go out and demo as many rods as you can. I have found the fly rod chooses you, not the other way around.

Sent from my SM-T237P using Tapatalk
fredaevans likes this.
Old 02-21-2016, 12:57 PM

jamesdta is on a distinguished road

Unfortunately I dont. There's a dicks about 10 minutes from me and a gander mountain 45 away. Not much of a selection however I did score a 5wt reddington Classic trout for $20 at dicks

---------- Post added at 01:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:44 PM ----------

I know what your saying though.
Old 02-21-2016, 08:41 PM

finatic is on a distinguished road