Average cost of an "upscale" rig?

nralover

Reaction score
I was talking fishing with someone at work, and he asked me what a higher end fly fishing setup cost. Being a newbie I really had no answer. My question to you folks is- what kind of setup can be had for 500.00 or so? Perhaps I can give him a better idea of the price spectrum of fly fishing...

Joe D

Reaction score
For "high end" your probably looking in the $1,200 range. Mid range I'd say is in the $300-$500 area, and low range would be anything less than $250. This is for the rod, reel and line. Still have to consider the other stuff like waders, etc.

Now that being said, high end, medium end, and low end are all relative.

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi nralover,

I think Joe is pretty close on his cost for a high end outfit.

A mid-priced outfit to me would be a rod that cost $300 to $450. A Reel in the $250 to $350 range and a fly line in the $60 range. So a mid-range rod, reel and line would be in the $600 to $800 range.

A high-priced outfit would be a rod that cost $500 to $800. A reel in the $350 to $800 range and a fly line in the $60 to $100 dollar range. So a high-priced rod reel and line would be in the $900 $1,600 range or more.

Then there is the I gotta have it at any price range and you get into the $2000 to $4000 range.

Frank

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi nralover,

I just noticed that this was in the warm water section. Were you asking about a high priced outfit for warm water only or just a general question about high priced outfits? My reply included all types of fishing not just warm water.

Frank

Joe D

Reaction score
Hi nralover,

I think Joe is pretty close on his cost for a high end outfit.

A mid-priced outfit to me would be a rod that cost $300 to $450. A Reel in the $250 to $350 range and a fly line in the $60 range. So a mid-range rod, reel and line would be in the $600 to $800 range.