The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Warmwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   bream were too deep (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/warmwater-fly-fishing/4672-bream-were-too-deep.html)

Joey W 06-15-2008 09:36 AM

bream were too deep

ok guys, i went fishing yesterday and hit a snag (no pun intended). to keep it short and get right to the point, i found some nice bream but just couldn't get down to them. a guy fishing from the bank with crickets and a float was fishing maybe 2 feet deep, and he absolutely killed them.

i was using nymphs and adding a little weight, but never got one bite..so i'm assuming i just wasn't getting down to the fish (bream will hit nymphs, right??). i was using a floating line, but added a little extra tippet..

any of you guys run into this problem? any pointers or tips?

i'm still new to this whole thing so any advice is greatly appreciated.

dead fly 06-15-2008 10:23 AM

Re: bream were too deep

I'd rty streamers, as they do like minoes, wolly buggers work great too.

Joey W 06-15-2008 10:36 AM

thanks for the reply

i tried black and olive wolly bugger and a minnow streamer with no luck. i think i just wasn't getting down far enough..

dead fly 06-15-2008 01:28 PM

Maybe not. Were you fishing from the shore, or wadding? I like to wade just because I can get to many more places not avalible from shore. Last few days have been bad though. The rain has risen up the water level a few feet. So I guess really I am in a simular situation... I'm thinking of picking up a sinking line to see how that helps me.

CzechNymph 06-15-2008 03:13 PM

I don't think not getting deep enough is the problem. I fish for them with different nymphs up to 4' down with a floating line. I am using 6lb Seaguar for a "leader" and put a little splitshot between my two flies.