The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2008, 10:38 PM

FlyRichardFly will become famous soon enoughFlyRichardFly will become famous soon enough
Default Breakin' in my new 4wt

Just like "McFly" mentioned, the streams around here are super low also. The trout streams are 1/3 of what they usually flow!!
I thought "why not downsize for some fun with the small fish"
I purchased a Orvis Clearwater II 8'6" 4wt and a Orvis Battenkill Large Arbor reel and some 4wt Wonderline Gen 3 Double Taper.
I've never used a DT before. This is a wonderful line for the small streams I fish. Great for roll casting and makes such a quiet presentation on the water when I use a small dry.
The Susquehanna is still having it's problems and I was ready to hang up my freshwater stuff and head to the shore.
The NJ surf is also having problems!! Brown water with no fish. Everyone is complaining about it. The croakers should arrive soon...... they are a blast with a fly rod! I hope the water clears soon.
I thought of all my options and thought the best bet for me would be to catch the abundant "trash fish" with a light fly rod.
I'm so happy with the Orvis stuff. My 8'6" 4wt is only 2.7oz!!!! And the large arbor reel is only 3.9oz!!
I've tried a Copper John Nymph #14, a Pheasant Tail Nymph #16 and a Adam's Dry #16 and the 2" to 3" chubs love them...... but to catch a trout or smallmouth or rockbass I have to use my own black woolybuggers!
I wanted to have some fun fishing again..... and that's what I got today!!
Mild exercise also. I walk on a beautiful trail down a beautiful stream and take in all the wonders of a pristine stream!!
So much fun today, I'll think I'll do it again tomorrow!

Click the image to open in full size.

"People are crazy, times are strange"