The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 10:45 PM

MikeG will become famous soon enough
Default Pike and Muskie Rods/flies

I am pretty new to fly fishing, I can cast pretty well for a person at my level. ( I been fly fishing since June 2008) So far I got a 5 wt, 6wt, and 8wt. Sages and Temple fork outfitter rods. I know I can use a 8wt for pike here in IL, but when I am up in Canada I would like something with more of a back bone incase I hook into a 40" plus fish. I was thinking of a 9wt, not sure what make or model I should get? Any suggestions I would like to spend less than $300 for the rod.

I also like muskie fishing. Looking to get into Fly fishing for muskies. Not sure what rod to get? Any Suggestions would be much appreciated?

As for flies, I really have no clue besies clousers and wooly buggers? What do people usually use for pike and muskies?
Old 10-13-2008, 11:11 PM

liv2fish is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Pike and Muskie Rods/flies