The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2009, 09:14 AM

HookEmHorns will become famous soon enough
Default New Fly Rod!

Hey guys,
I'm a new guy here, just joined yesterday... And I was wondering if any of you all could help me out a little bit.
First off, I am pretty new to the sport of fly fishing also. Me and my dad got started this summer and I have been in love with it ever since!
Anyway, I got a new rod for christmas and I was hoping that you guys could help me figure out what set up to run on it. Its a White River Fly Shop 5wt 2-piece fly rod. Its the dogwood canyon I believe. It isn't top of the line by any means but I do like it a lot. It came with the backing and line on it and I had to cut the tippet off of it because it was tangled up in the reel when I got it... I usually go fishing in my grandpa's little 5 acre lake about a mile from my house where there are some smallmouth bass, a few largemouth, some catfish, bluegill, and a lot of big carp. I kind of want to set it up to do pretty much anything. I usually just fish dry flies as I love to watch those bass attack the fly, so I guess I just need to know what size of a tippet and leader to go on it. I know the divide the fly size by 4 and add 1 rule, but if I change sizes on the fly, do I have to change the leader too? or just the tippet? I have read a few books and it doesn't specify at all.
Thanks for any help guys and I hope to talk to all of you at some point!

Happy Fishin!
HookEmHorns
Old 02-03-2009, 09:29 AM

boone is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Fly Rod!

Welcome hookem its agreat place here with lots of cool people to help fuel your addiction.