The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2009, 08:20 PM

spanky is on a distinguished road
Default Chain Pickerel

I do believe in Texas we call them Grinnel, why I don't know........anyway is there a fly out there that works good on them? I do understand that they react to a lot of flash, hence I have caught them off a spinner bait. Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.
Old 02-18-2009, 10:18 AM

kevino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Chain Pickerel

Here in NC they're called Jackfish or Jack Pike.

I'm looking forward to catching some pickerel on the fly (I'm a beginner). I've caught many on med light spinnnig gear with Rapala minnows, in line spinners and plastic worms.

This summer I'm going to try clouser minnows and bass bugs.

I've heard a few fisherman at my local lake say "poke your pliers through the head and throw them on the bank if you catch one". I just don't understand that mentality. These fish are agressive, fight like the dickens and in most cases have some awesome coloration. They're basically little pike and a lot of fun on light tackle.

Heck, I'll let the tournament anglers go after all the bass. I'd be happy hooking into pickerel and carp all day!
Old 02-18-2009, 10:44 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

Except for a short period just after ice-out, I can't say that I fish for them much on purpose.