The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 08:13 AM

jackh is on a distinguished road
Default how do i fish these flies

i got a couple clousers and some other minnow type flies the other day from orvis for bass fishing. im used to using foamies and poppers on bluegill though, how do i fish these lures to cath bass? im worried im either gonna strip too fast and scare fish or not strip fast enough and get snagged on the lake bottom. btw, in case you cant tell, im new to this stuff so bear with me here. thanks
Old 02-24-2009, 10:51 AM

arfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud of
Default Re: how do i fish these flies

OK, there are a couple things I do when useing these flies for bass or what ever. If I want to fish shallow I leave my floating line if I want to get deeper I put my spool with teh sink tip on, I even have an Orvis depth charge if I ever want to get real deep, I have never used it though, yet anyway. I let the fish tell me what they want, just like when useing crankbaits or spinner baits. Some days the fish want a fast eratic motion, other days they want it slow and some days they want it even slower, just play with diffrent ret. and let the fish tell you. One good methode I use is to let the fly settle a little then give it 2-3 very short fast strips like 1-2 inches, then let it settle again, then repet. I have done good with smallies in rivers useing a dead drift also.