4 wt or 5 wt for Northeast Panfish??

leon o

Reaction score
I'm looking to buy my first flyrod. This year I will have only a few hours a month to practice & fish, so I decided to pursue panfish in my local ponds. To keep it fun, I'm more interested in quantity than quality (size) of the fish.

Since I'm still learning and this will be my first rod, I've been given advice to stay at least 4 wt. I've seen some attractive closeouts & demos at very attractive prices.

TFO Pro/Signature/Finesse in the 8' to 9' foot range are options

Also I've seen a deal on a Sage Launch 590-2 and Winston Ascent 490 & 590 at prices I can afford.

I assume that the 5 wt is more versatile, but I'd like to have fun while with the little ones while I develop my skills. At this point, I am leaning towards an Allen reel.

Thanks

Leon

FrankB2

Reaction score
Hi Leon,
I don't fish anything lighter than a 4wt, and have lots of fun with panfish. On the trips when I'm expecting to get mostly bluegill, pumpkinseed, rock bass, green bass, etc, I take a 7' 6" or 8' 6" 4wt. Don't be surprised to catch crappie, largemouth and smallmouth bass, and other species when fishing for bluegills. I've caught stripped bass on the tidal section of Neshaminy Creek when fishing for bluegill (they come up from the Delaware River). Good patterns are Green Weenies and smaller foam surface bugs. The Launch would make a nice rod for all-round fishing in the Northeast, and it's made in the USA. I've caught plenty of tiny fish on a 5wt, and they still fairly fun. Not all panfish are equal, and I've found that the larger the stream/river, the greater the fight. Same with smallmouth.