The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Warmwater Fly Fishing Bass, Bream, Perch, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 06:28 AM

leon o is on a distinguished road
Default 4 wt or 5 wt for Northeast Panfish??

I'm looking to buy my first flyrod. This year I will have only a few hours a month to practice & fish, so I decided to pursue panfish in my local ponds. To keep it fun, I'm more interested in quantity than quality (size) of the fish.

Since I'm still learning and this will be my first rod, I've been given advice to stay at least 4 wt. I've seen some attractive closeouts & demos at very attractive prices.

TFO Pro/Signature/Finesse in the 8' to 9' foot range are options

Also I've seen a deal on a Sage Launch 590-2 and Winston Ascent 490 & 590 at prices I can afford.

I assume that the 5 wt is more versatile, but I'd like to have fun while with the little ones while I develop my skills. At this point, I am leaning towards an Allen reel.

Thanks

Leon
Old 02-03-2011, 07:55 AM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 4 wt or 5 wt for Northeast Panfish??

Hi Leon,