The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Western U.S.

Western U.S. Arizona, Utah, Idaho and Nevada. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By liesta

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2013, 12:53 AM

twistedjeep is on a distinguished road
Default white moutains az

need some insite on tackle and stream selection? any help would be great!
Old 09-06-2013, 11:36 AM

liesta is on a distinguished road
Default Re: white moutains az

Although I'm no expert, I have been fishing the White Mountains for ten years.
I find a seven foot 4 weight rod works the best in these small bushy streams, with a dropper setup. All of the streams have fish, but you have to do some walking to get away from the bait fisherman.
If you have any other questions fill free to contact me.

Carter
mcnerney likes this.
Old 09-06-2013, 10:08 PM

swampdonkey has a spectacular aura aboutswampdonkey has a spectacular aura about

Don't neglect some of the reservoirs up there. Not as scenic as some of the small streams but there are some hefty browns in some of them.

We did well chucking streamers just before dark.
Old 09-07-2013, 01:08 AM

newby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of light

I'm an AZ native and have fished the whites extensively the past two years. A 7'-7.5' 3 or 4wt will cover most situations on the creeks and a 9' 5wt will do well on the reservoirs.

If you want to do yourself a favor get a permit from the White Mountain Apache Tribe to fish Christmas Tree Lake. You'll find many willing, golden colored Apache trout that will take drys and chironimids. They are mainly big fish, too.