Would you offer help?

woodrivertroutbum

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am curious if you would offer help or not in this situation.

I am currently an arborist by trade. More specifically, I contract climb for several companies. Because of this, I can work a 3 day week and get by. I am glad I don't have to do it 5+ days a week because I don't want to burn myself out but I wouldn't mind doing something else during the week.

Well, my local fly shop is about a minute up the road from me and is owned by an older gentlemen with some health issues. The shop was recently closed for 2 weeks unexpectedly and we found out later that he was in the hospital.

I am almost positive he doesn't have any family members that would be able to run, or help him in the shop which means he will be closed a lot more than normal, only opening when he is feeling well enough to do so. It sucks when it is not open because it is so convenient, but more importantly I just hate to see his business suffer that he has had for so long. I actually stopped by the other day after the storm and shoveled the 2 feet of snow off the steps and to where he parks. I want to help him as much as possible, even if he doesn't know it was me that did it.

Anyways, I would like to offer to help him out at the shop but feel uncomfortable about doing it. I feel like it isn't my place to offer, but I also know that he doesn't have anyone else. In all honesty, I don't even want anything for it. I wouldn't turn down store credit, but that isn't why I want to do it.

So, I wouldn't expect anyone to do it for free, but what do you think about offering? How would you go about it? Thanks!

williamhj

Reaction score