Verdi

hangin chad

Reaction score
Howdy, folks!

I plan to be hitting the Truckee in Crystal Peak Park round 10 tomorrow morning.

Any advice what patterns to use? Techniques?

Remember, I'm a complete novice with flies so please make it easy on me:)

Or if someone just wants to drop by to say "hi", I'll probably be the only guy on the water sporting both a black tennis elbow brace and a Sportsman's Warehouse vest;)

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
If no one relies with updated info, you might want to read through this thread: http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/western-u-s/13129-truckee-river.html

For additional info, click on the search function, then select "Advanced Search", then in the next window on the left side, type in "Truckee", then select "titles" in the drop down box, there are several threads there on the Truckee river that might offer some advice. Best of luck!

trout trekker

Reaction score
Western Portal Sequoia National Forest, Kern River
HC,

Might want to double check the flows there and next time you’re at Sportsmens Warehouse try to find a stream thermometer. Two weeks ago I passed through that general area and didn't fish, the morning stream temps breeched the 70 degree mark……no bueno for the trout, even if they are holdovers. ;)

Check this out if you get the chance.

[ame=http://vimeo.com/101768649]A Proposed Hoot Owl Closure on the Truckee River on Vimeo[/ame]

Either way, have a great day, Dave

hangin chad

Reaction score
I just saw that post, Dave, on another thread. The thermometer is a good idea, I used to carry one for lakes in Oklahoma but temp is even more critical in trout streams, so where's the light bulb smiley I've seen on other forums?

---------- Post added at 10:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:19 PM ----------

Now for my actual trip report: