Essential Dry Flies

Jake.

Reaction score
I am a new fly fisherman and need to stock a fly box. I want to start out with the basic dry flies. I will be fishing the mountain streams of North Carolina and Virginia for trout. What are the essential patterns and sizes of dry flies that I need for my box?

Thanks,
Jake

webrx

Reaction score
I'm a noob also, but my research indicates......

Dry Flies:
Elk Hair Caddis; brown and olive - sizes 14 and 18
Adams - sizes 14, 16 and 18
Blue Wing Olive - sizes 16, 18 and 20
Royal Wulff - sizes 12 and 16
Griffiths Gnat - sizes 20 and 22

I have about a 5 page document I have put together form various sources (including many searches on this site) I would be happy to send your way if interested. Send me a pm if you want it.

Dave

axle27

Reaction score
You HAVE to have a streamer...Wooly Bugger, preferrably. A few terrestrials would help, Hopper and a few ants.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
The guys have given you good flies and I can't add too much to the list but if you can find anyone who sells a Bi Visible I've caught a slew of brookies on the old pattern.

If your fishing brook trout, if it floats it'll probably work. If there are browns there you will want the patterns the fellas have put up for you.

Jimmie

Reaction score
I'm a noob also, but my research indicates......

Dry Flies:
Elk Hair Caddis; brown and olive - sizes 14 and 18
Adams - sizes 14, 16 and 18
Blue Wing Olive - sizes 16, 18 and 20
Royal Wulff - sizes 12 and 16
Griffiths Gnat - sizes 20 and 22

I have about a 5 page document I have put together form various sources (including many searches on this site) I would be happy to send your way if interested. Send me a pm if you want it.

Dave