Looking for advice from experienced oarsmen.

Shake

Reaction score
I just picked up a used drift boat this spring, and I'm looking for some advice from the experienced oarsmen in the forum. I have very little experience rowing a drift boat but a lot of experience with a raft. My rafting experience is with my 15 foot whitewater raft that I have taken down the Middle Fork of the Salmon and many other trips that include class 3 and 4 rapids. My understanding is that drift boats are a little more tricky, especially when hitting a strong eddy line. I welcome all suggestions and tips.

Thanks Chad.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Shake: I have had two different guides warn me about crossing a strong eddie line. They say to angle slowly across. Personally, I have yet to experience a problem with an eddie line. Hyde and Clackacraft both have DVD's out on the fundamentals of rowing a drift boat. You can find these DVD's on EBay or the manufacturer's web sites. A drift boat should row pretty much the same as a raft with a rowing frame (I would think). The basic idea is that as you approach a hazard you want to angle the back of the boat from the hazard (across the current say 30-45 degrees) and then row backwards. As you clear the obstacle you then straighten the boat with the current. If you are drifting a river like the Green River, UT which has a lot of pillow rocks (rocks submerged just under the surface) you want to keep the bow pointed down stream as much as possible except when hard maneuvering. The idea with a drift boat is that if you have to hit an obstacle you want to hit it with the bow, then you can spin off the obstacle. You don't ever want to hit an obstacle with the side of the boat, that is how you can get the boat pinned or sunk. You also don't ever want to tie a knot in the anchor rope. If the anchor accidently deploys in a very fast current it can drag the back of the boat down and swamp the boat.

Larry

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score