Nassau and Eleuthera in Feb/Mar

qacwac

Reaction score
Hey, Everybody. Haven't been on here much lately because I haven't been fishing, tying, or rod building at all. Who knew a 2 year old and a newborn could be so demanding? Not that I'm complaining, they are fantastic, but everything else has taken a back seat. Fortunately, my wife has a conference in the Bahamas at the end of February and we are going to stay an extra week so I can fish. The conference is in Nassau, which from what I understand has hardly any flats fishing, but we’ll only be there for the weekend and then thinking about going to Eleuthera after the conference for the fishing. I've been scouring the forum and web for info and have figured out a bunch of stuff, but wanted to start a thread make it "official".

I'm mainly a DIY kind of guy, but not opposed to hiring a guide for a day if it is really necessary. I am a total newbie when it comes to bonefishing and saltwater fishing in general. I just got in the mail Chico Fernandez's book FlyFishing for Bonefish and Rod Hamilton's book Do It Yourself Bonefishing. I've got 2 8 weight rods and a 9 weight that I’ll be bringing along with lines and reels. We arrive Feb 27th and fly back out March 6th. Obviously, my wife will be with me, but so long as it’s not a desolate island she’ll be fine.

So I'd appreciate any advice or pointers or thoughts regarding my plans. Any must have flies. Any flats way out of the way that perhaps don’t get hit as hard. Coming from a backpacking fishing background, I’d much rather hike 10 miles to a flat that has easier fish than drive to one where they are educated. What is the etiquette on a flat? How much room do you give fellow anglers? I may ask some more specific questions of anyone who responds. Feel free to send me a PM and look for my trip report when I get back.

okiekev

Reaction score