7’ 6” to 7’ 9” Bamboo

drift111

Reaction score
I know this is probably a bad idea but I’m going to ask anyway. I just got an inexpensive but nice Chinese 7’ 6” 2 piece bamboo blank. Each section is a little over 50” long. The taper is based on a Dickerson 7613. Question: would I be destroying the action of this rod to make it a 7’ 9” instead of a 7’ 6” since I have the length to do it and really would like a 7’ 9”? Ok, be kind, I’m new at this.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
I'm guessing you would intend removing the cork to expose another 3 inches of the butt section as shaft.

It's possible but there could be some issues. One would be the finish on the new exposed bamboo shaft section. Will it be finished or in a rough hewn condition? Two would be that you will need to find a suitable material to use as a sort of splint on the rear end of the butt section so that you have something for the reel seat to remount to.

If it were a very inexpensive rod that I only wanted to experiment on I might be tempted but would go forward with those 2 things in mind. I do however seriously doubt that it will become any more able to cast well based on this change. So I guess I just said I might just leave it alone and take it fishing.....

One other thing, Athens? Greece or Georgia :)

Ard

Rip Tide

Reaction score
I doubt that you'd distroying any action
I also doubt that you'd be doing yourself any favors
I've rebuilt cane rods where the bamboo blank did not exp
Those rods were " bottom of the line", to be kind.
I don't see what you're thinking about doing to be of any bennifit

drift111

Reaction score
Thanks Ard, but these are raw blanks, not an existing, finished rod. So I'd be starting from scratch.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Well that's different...……….