Too Warm for Trout?

bobbyc21fish

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I was recently on a New Jersey fishing forum and there were many people debating whether the water temps are to warm for catch and release trout fishing. Some of the people said that if the water temps go over 68 degrees and the fish isnt released quickly, they will most likely die. Others say that if you fight and release a trout the right way in 70 degree water then it would be ok.

Just wanted to see what some of you thought as a lot of you are very experienced anglers. Some of the people also said they stop fishing for trout in mid may. I feel like I shouldnt even be fishing for trout anymore.:(

axle27

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I think it has to do with where they are at. If you're fishing a spring creek up in the mountains, you might not have a problem. Some of the lower rivers, yeah, I can see it happening.

When it becomes too warm and there's no place cool and deep for them, it could kill them.

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
Water temps are key, but this will vary a lot by stream. Tailwaters like the West Branch of the Delaware and spring fed streams with cool sources of water can remain very fishable throughout the summer. Unfortunately, many of the streams in NJ that are fed by run off rather than underground springs will warm up pretty quickly, especially if they don't have much overhead cover. But there are some options in NJ:
NJDEP Division of Fish & Wildlife - Summer Trout Fishing in New Jersey

as well as a lot of options in the Catskills and spring fed streams in PA.

Many fly shops near a specific fishery will have info on their websites or a telephone recording detailing water conditions including temperature, flow rate and hatches.