Montana in July

mrfzx

Reaction score
Well, I am finnally going to do it. That is, fish west of the Mississippi (other than Alaska). Two of my buddies have asked me to accompany them to Monatana the second week of July to fish the Bitterroot, the Selway, and Lochsa rivers/streams/creeks. The problem is I have no experience with the midwestern waters. I want to start planning now.

I am pretty sure my Winston Biit 9' 5wt, and my BVK 9' 5wt will cover most everything I am likely to encounter. One is matched to a Hardy 5000DD and a Rio Gold WF5F line. The other is matched to a Marryat MR7 and a Wulff long belly WF5F, so I think I am good with rods/reels and hardware (tell me if I am wrong).

They have told me to plan on stimulators and terrestrials.....ok.....details please. I know some of you are more than familiar with this area, and I am begging for some help. What should I start tying? Patterns, sizes color variations, etc. please.

dhayden

Reaction score
People closer will chime in I'm sure.. but July is usually a little early for hoppers.

But it's usually PMD season in a big way.

All the mayfly patterns Linehans mentions look good.. but, like above, that's out of my range. One thing I'd add is your favorite PMD emerger.

ETA: Hoppers always seem to work, but that's just not the peak..

jsquires

Reaction score
You choice of gear sounds fine to me.
I haven't fished the Bitteroot, but I've fished the Lochsa a couple of times and spent a week backpacking on the Selway. I found the fishing very good and not very challenging. Standard attractor patterns and small leeches on the Lochsa worked well. Had very high catch rates on the Selway with the Chernobyl Ant and/or hoppers, but I can't remember if it was July or August when we were there. Anyhow, I wouldn't get too stressed about it - it won't be rocket-science fishing.
And I hope you have a great trip.

dhayden

Reaction score
To follow on Bobs.. last year: Chubby Chernobyl's were the rage.. purple and red