Need help please!!!

zarkhd

Reaction score
Hello everyone, i'm relatively new to fly fishing... I spent 3 weekends in the park practicing, and then i went to Croton 2 times, and did not have any luck there. I tried different patterns and walked all the way down... No luck with any fish. Would anyone please suggest a place where i can actually catch some fish, not too far away from NYC. I would really appreciate your help.

Tha ks guys!

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hello,

If I were where you are at I would visit a Barns & Noble or any large book seller and browse the NY Outdoor section. Every state I've lived in seems to have a 'Where to fish book' out on the trout or other species you may be interested in. Being in the city you are not too far from linking onto Rt. 17 just up north and then it's a relatively pleasant and short drive over into the Catskill region.

It has been almost 34 years and many a storm, most recently 'Sandy' have wracked Long Islands Carmen's River but there were or perhaps are brook & brown trout in Carmen's. Any guide to fishing NY should mention Long Island and any opportunity that may still exist there. I am presuming you are interested in trout fishing, is this correct?

Ard

PS; In an afterthought it occurred to me that we have a NYC member who may be able to help you. His user name is floorabove. If you go to our private messing system and choose "Send New Message" when you type in the name it will automatically show you his as one of the choices. Send a PM and I bet he replies to you.

Ard

sandfly

Reaction score
You are trying to catch a species (trout) that stifles the best of us on some days. If you want to catch fish and learn and have fun, pick a pond and fish for blue gills to start. central park is full of them and bass. its still cold in the rivers and fish are sluggish still.

noreaster

Reaction score
i'm relatively new to fly fishing...and walked all the way down... No luck with any fish.