Hello I have some questions?

crestedgeckoguy

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to fly fishing and I just got a vest and I want to know what are some things I need to get to put in my vest for trout fishing?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Keep it basic.

Box of flies
Spare Leaders
Two or three tippet spools
Nippers
Hemostats
Dry fly floatant
Split shot or tungsten putty
Indicators

Dennis

mirabelasunshine

Reaction score
That's pretty much it.

Mine has all that, plus a net, a raincoat, my license, and my camera.

gregnash

Reaction score
That is pretty much everything I have in my vest. Don't get "weighed down" with feeling like you have to fill the pockets. My cheap Redington vest has a ton of pockets but I have the items mentioned above and that is really everything I have needed.

Really to fly fish you don't need a whole lot of things, as long as you have spare tippet or leaders you can pretty easily change things out. Then from there the nippers just help get closer than your teeth and the hemostats allow you to get those hooks that are buried (make sure to get the kind that have flat tips for mashing down barbs). I have my iphone on me with a lifeproof case so I dont carry a separate camera.

Again, use the KISS method!

fredaevans

Reaction score
White City (tad north of Medford) Oar-E-Gone
Chuck the vest, you don't need one save for a multi-day trip some place.

Everything you really need can be stuck in a few shirt pockets. One box of flies and two leader spools (appropriate x-factor). People, People, People .. I see folks loaded up with 'gear' that will never see the light of day.

Why even have it on you? I see folks with stuff 'vests' full of what ever; 20 of the same pattern, same size and I have to do a 'Say what?' Even my old Yellow Lab rolls his eyes and just walks away.

Not working, fine go to a different fly or change size on the same.