Hopper with a Dropper

french

Reaction score
I am new to fly fishing and trout as of this summer (June) and in the past month I have started to try out nymphs with pretty good success especially when the trout aren't rising.

I have been casting a hopper as an indicator with a nymph dropper and am getting hits on the hopper, but most often on the nymph. I am currently using a 8'6" 4W rod with WF4F line, a 4X leader ranging from 6 - 9' in length (depending on how often a tree comes out of nowhere and trims it down some) and then another 2-3' of 4X tippet to the hopper and 14 - 18" of 6X tippet to the nymph.

The past two times I have been out I have hooked a larger 11 -13" trout each outing by a fin. They are large for me anyways. In both instances I have cast upstream on a 45 degree angle and let the rig drift to 45 degrees downstream. At the end i lift my rod tip softly (6 inches at the most). The first was a rainbow i hooked right where the lower portion of the tail meets the body. The second was in the middle of the dorsal fin where it meets the body of a beautiful brown. In both cases the fish were released safely, and swam away quickly on their own power.

So to the point: What am I doing wrong where I am hooking the fish this way? Is this normal? Any tips for not hooking them in this manner?

Thank you in advance for helping out a newby!

Last edited:

jjparson

Reaction score
Foul hooking a fish when using two flies is not uncommon. I think what often happens is that the fish has actually came up to check out the dry (in your case hopper) and then when sliding back down or turning gets hung up on the nymph. I do not know of any ways to avoid this aside from fishing with one fly instead of two.

guest64

Account on hold
Reaction score