Interesting Markings On This Trout

jamieof

Reaction score
Check out the difference in the middle and bottom trout in the picture below. I've seen the colour pattern on the tail of the bottom trout before, but never seen one with the abundance of dark spots. These were caught within minutes of each other in the same place on the pond.

Is the bottom trout some sort of hybrid?

Thanks.

Jamie

kglissmeyer1

Reaction score
I'm no expert, (Len, wade in on this one...) but if you take the top one (brown trout) and cross it with the middle one (brook trout) you get the bottom one, a tiger trout. And yes, it is a hybrid.

Kelly.

jamieof

Reaction score
I'm no expert, (Len, wade in on this one...) but if you take the top one (brown trout) and cross it with the middle one (brook trout) you get the bottom one, a tiger trout. And yes, it is a hybrid.

Kelly.
OK, thanks Kelly.

I seem to remember somewhere that the results of a breed between Brown and Brook trout are sterile. Is that true, do you know?

Jamie.

sandfly

Reaction score
I would like to see a better picture before saying it is a tiger, markings are hard to see. A tiger is Sterile and cannot multiply. Might be a tiger if from a hatchery.

kglissmeyer1

Reaction score
Most 'Hybrid' species are sterile according to the biologists, but sometimes I think that "nature will somehow find a way...". I have some interesting examples in my favorite spring creek that look a bit like tigers, but they lack the fin markings of brookies prominent on the tigers and there are no brook trout in this area.

Here are some examples:

And this one looks more like a bull trout than a brown trout, yet there are no bull trout in this drainage:

Go figure. But it sure is fun to catch them.:D

Kelly.

---------- Post added at 11:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:18 AM ----------