Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  17
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Stream tactic question

So I was fishing this river on Saturday and came up to a half Moon shape of rocks that created a series of slack water areas. I was fishing a streamer and wanted to know if you would have fished down from the up stream or fish up from the down stream.

In the picture, the orange is the rocks, the blue is the water flow, and the green are the area's I was trying to fish to.

Also, if you would have fished them with other flies beside a streamer feel free to voice your option on that also.

I've been fly fishing less than a year, so I feel like after action reports like this help me to try to understand the water a little better.

Thanks in advance,

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Default Re: Stream tactic question

I am far from an expert (fishing mostly in ponds but planning to get more into stream fishing) but I would guess that the fish are behind those rocks (downstream), staying out of the strongest current and looking for food coming down the conveyor belt, darting out to grab something and then getting back to shelter. So I would stand downstream and cast just upstream of the rocks. I would start out with a woolly bugger, my go-to. In the summer, maybe a grasshopper or ant or spider. I have not yet learned enough to "match the hatch."

I look forward to more expert replies (at which I may respond, "Oh, so that is why I rarely catch anything...").

3. Likes Anthoni814 liked this post

Here's my observations in flowing water:
    Fish position themselves, as GP said, facing the current. If they're tight against the rock, they might actually be facing downstream, since the eddy will be flowing "backwards" into the rock. I've seen this a few times.