Losing fish on nymph rigs right before netting

LandoLando

Reaction score
This weekend I lost four fish right before netting on nymph rigs, I haven't nymphed much this year until this weekend, so maybe I'm rusty, but what are some best practices for not letting them off when they're almost in. None of the fish were on the reel, I was stripping them in and when I lifted my rod tip up to bring them to the surface they got off before I got them in the net. I was using a Provo river bounce rig with an size 18 attractor on 4x tippet and a size 20 midge and split shot on 6x.

I got three in the net with nothing different so I was thinking maybe I wasn't always setting the hook quite well enough.

Joey Bagels

Reaction score
Sounds like you’re ripping the hook out by adding the extra leverage to “lift them” to the surface. Be gentle.
Was this in Stillwater?
I’ve never used a rig like that in a lake before.

LandoLando

Reaction score
No, it was not Stillwater, meant to post this in cold water. This was on the Provo river. I wasn't lifting the rod up vertical, I was pulling it back behind me at a 45 or so. My rig is 9 ft or so long so I have to lift it bit to get the fish close enough to net.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
I'm going to guess that they didn't just come loose like pieces of snagged drift wood. I'm thinking that there may have been some flopping and last minute struggling that resulted in the hook coming loose. Maybe, maybe not but I'll tell you how I learned to avoid loosing fish at the moment of truth.