Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Good Books???

Default Any Good Books???

I am looking for book recommendations. I am looking for two different kinds of books.

First, I'm looking for something that goes into trout biology/life-cycle kind of thing. I would love something written for the average person, but considering I'm looking for something of depth, I'll work my way through a science laden read.

Second, I am looking for more books on techniques, skills, reading water, etc but not for the beginner. I feel like most books I pick up are for the complete novice. Here I would prefer something more technical, as I want to become better faster, but I just started reading "Trout Bum" and cant put it down. So I guess I'm asking for books that you feel made you a better fisherman.

I am still new at the trout game and would really appreciate any recommendations, thanks.
    “Do not tell fish stories where the people know you; but particularly, don’t tell them where they know the fish.”
    http://theladygreyflyfishing.blogspot.com/

Blog Entries

Default Re: Any Good Books???

Trout and Salmon of North America by Dr. Robert Behnke and Joe Tomelleri (illustrator). Scientific, beautiful, and informative. milt.

3. Default Re: Any Good Books???

Don't forget your bugs!

Check out "Fish food" by Ralph Cutter.

The simpler the outfit, the more skill it takes to manage it, and the more pleasure one gets in his achievements.” --- Horace Kephart

"What the Trout Said" by Datus Proper.

6. Default Re: Any Good Books???

this book is great for learning hatches and what depth to fish your flies, I'd recommend reading it several times, theres lots of stuff in it.