New Drift Boat Loadout

sfender

Reaction score
Hello gents. I just purchased a new drift boat and while I wait on delivery I wanted to see how others outfitted their boats. :D

I will have plenty of dry storage but it seems that a waterproof bag or two would be nice and some tackle tray boxes would be nice. Patagonia has a nice bag I was looking at. I have seen some good set ups from guided trips that I was thinking of, but there are many options it seems.

I will have space for four rods and was thinking of setting them up differently depending on location and fishing conditions.

This will be my first boat so I am new to the best gear for this purpose.

Thanks for looking.

S

smcnearn

Congrats! What make/model did you go with? A few safety items I can think of...

Emergency Throw Bag or Two
A Good knife
Wire Snips
Emergency overnight kit (Mylar blankets, water purification, first aid kit, fire starting stuff)

You're going to want a long handle boat net if you don't have one yet. Fishpond nomad with the 3ft handle is pretty great.

I like to prerig a bunch of bugs so I only have to tie one knot to replace a break off while on the water. EX If I'm doing a triple nymph rig that day I tie the 3 nymphs up and wrap them around a large sponge to keep them from tangling. I'll have 5-6 rigs ready to tie on, just unwind one off the sponge and get back to fishing.

Oh one other thing.

For hot days or swamped boats!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sfender

Reaction score
Thanks for the tips! I went with a stealthcraft. Really like them and ready for my own :D

Never used a triple nymph rig. Going to have to try that for sure. Had not thought about an emergency kit, but will add that to the list.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Post up a photo when you get delivery of your new boat!