Coulee Country Video

Reaction score
Here's a scenic look (with some fishing!) from Wisconsin's Driftless Area. I won't get there again till next Spring, so all I can do is reminisce and dream...
Crank the volume and hope you enjoy it!

Hunter Gathers

Reaction score
Great video!!

I'm new to fly fishing and I spent two days during the last three weeks of the season fishing the southernmost part of the WI driftless and absolutely loved it. Caught my first trout on the fly there and am aching to get back next season and explore all those streams.

Reaction score
Thanks!
I've lived in Idaho now for 3 years and so far haven't found anything that quite compares to the DA. It's special, for sure. So many streams, so little time. I've been fishing there for over a dozen years now and there's still a bunch of streams I've never seen, let alone fished. Creeks that I fished that first year that I'd like to return to but haven't yet due to the allure of the new and unexplored.

silver creek

Reaction score
There is a Driftless area tour every year that is free. I think it is sponsored by TU and DARE (Driftless Area Restoration Effort).

Driftless Area Restoration Effort | Trout Unlimited

Driftless Area Restoration Effort

Driftless Area Restoration Effort | National Fish Habitat Partnership

I took the tour two weeks ago and I visited 4 streams in Southwestern, Wi. Other years have visited the Minnesota Driftless areas and the Driftless area in Iowa.

I learned a lot about how they rehab streams now that is different from how they used to. They don't use "lunker structures" any more. They remove all trees for about 100 feet on each side of the stream. Then they dig away the dirt so they can lay down rock slabs for those 100 feet on each side. They cover that with dirt and seed it with natural grass cover seed.

Here is the stream on the side of the stream which has not been rehabbed. Note the overgrown vegetation and the trees.

P1030865.jpg