Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  13
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Where do I start?

I am new to fly selection and entomology and there is SO MUCH information out there I don't know where to begin. Are there any books you would recommend to started on fly types, selection, and entomology?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Where do I start?

Start by watching flies when you fish...if you have a good assortment in you box take a fly that looks like the one on the water ...silhouette,size and color...no matter if you don't know its name

3. Likes hairwing530 liked this post
    Blog Entries

You can make entomology as easy or as difficult as you want. If you can learn the basics of caddis, mayfly, stonefly, midge, and other insects, you are more than halfway there. Just figure out size and color, and you have your fly.

Schollmeyer's Hatch Guide for the Western Streams is a nice pocket size reference. It shows bugs and its respective flies for their lifecycle stages.

Here is a hatch chart from Clay Hash's website for the Lower Yuba River. You can apply the chart for different watersheds in Northern California.

Dennis

5. Likes comeonavs, hairwing530 liked this post

There is much to learn in this sport. In the meantime, get the top ten flies for YOUR water in your box. Nothing wrong with catching a few fish now. You can learn why as you go.

7. Likes hairwing530 liked this post

This article here is a good place to start
    What Trout Eat - Fly Fisherman

On top of this, I believe that it's important to realize that different caddis and mayflies have distinct behavioral characteristics and each type can be found in recognizable habitats

For mayflies, there's 4 types
    1) Burrowers (slow or still water, silty substrate),... they're big bugs too
    2) Swimmers (still water and streams with plenty of vegetation).. all small nymphs and obviously...they swim.
    3) Clingers (rocky fast water) mid sized, dead drift.