Interested in glass

clsmith131

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm interested in putting together a 2, 3 or possibly 4wt 6'-7' outfit for small creeks in the north GA/NC hills, where there is a lot of laurel and overhanging canopy. I like the idea of fiberglass, for a number of reasons: its softness is easy on light tippet, it's durable, which is good if you are a prone to falling while trouncing around the woods and creek banks, and it seems like it would be more fun on some of the little brookies I might encounter. I was just looking to get a little feedback from those of you who have experience with fiberglass and these types of places.

Some questions I have are:
1) Like graphite, does tech differ greatly from lower priced offerings to high priced? My understanding of glass is very limited. I know that there are two types: s-structural, and e-electrical, and am somewhat familiar with their properties but I have no experience with glass rods outside of trolling and spinning rods.
2) Are the glass rod weights directly comparable to graphite? I.e. does a 3 wt glass rod seem like a 3wt graphite rod? or more like a 2wt?
3) Is a double taper best for dry droppers on light glass rods? or something else?
4) What are some of the glass rods you've enjoyed and why?

At the end of the day, I want to take a nice setup with me that is fun to fish and proportionate to small creeks off the beaten path. Any insight or experiences shared would be greatly appreciated. I understand some people like graphite rods only, I'm not interested in how a graphite rod might be better. I have graphite rods, I'm specifically looking to get the fiberglass experience. It's still early in my research, but I'm looking to pull the trigger soon.

Thanks,
Chad

jayr

Reaction score
As one who grew up on glass rods, I can tell you there are lots and lots of glass rods available. You can spend anything from $20 to hundreds of dollars.