Any input on Echo BAG Quickshot of Blue Halo 7 weight

bbabosa

Reaction score
Buying first fiberglass rod and narrowed it down to Echo BAG Quickshot 8’ 7 weight or Blue Halo 2nd gen 8’6 7 weight. Using for targeting slot redfish, snook and juvinile tarpon Inshore and largemouth bass. Anyone have any experience with either rod. I know it’s best to cast them but don’t have that luxury as nobody carries them locally.

rsagebrush

Reaction score
There are some comments on the Fiberglass Fly Rod Forum concerning the BAG 10WT by some qualified people. That's the Quickshot though. I think the 9 footer's would be quite a handful for most people.

I

ikankecil

I have no experience with the Blue Halo but I do own the Echo BAG Quickshot rods in 6/7/8. I ordered them sight unseen and was a tad concerned about how they'd cast. Like the OP, there weren't any on shelves locally for me to try before making the leap. Prior to the Echo BAG 8' rods, the only "modern" glass rods I'd cast were rods by Epic (NZ). The 6wt Echo BAG Quickshot, in my impression, is maybe a bit faster than the Epic 686, I'm not sure how much of that is due to the 6" difference in length but I can easily cast a good bit further with the Echo rod than I can with the Epic rod of the same line weight.