Sloppy Tip on Fiberglass fly rods?

foulhook3160

Reaction score
Too be honest, I have little to none experience with fiberglass rods. So this problem I experienced may be due to inexperience and not due to rod design.

Went to the Smoky Mountains this past week and fished a small stream where most of the casts would be 10 to 15 feet, with a few over 20. I used an Orvis Superfine glass rod in a 7' 6" 4 weight (I know, great reviews) with a 4 weight DT line and a 7' leader. Although some of the casts were spot on, I would say 30 to 40 percent were off, just not as accurate as I would like. I would say that I was not nearly as accurate as I was with my graphite rods.

Is the lack of accuracy inherent in glass fly rods? Is it inherent in the Orvis Superfine glass rod? Is it a casting technique I need to learn? Thanks for your help.

jayr

Reaction score
I have that exact same rod. Mine is accurate as all get out. I also fish the Smokies on a regular basis.

What exact line do you have?

What exact leader are you using?

What fly(s) were you throwing? What size(s)?

ddb

Reaction score
Is that the only glass rod you use? If so, you may need to make sure to consistently slow down your stroke to get the rod loading the same each time.

Also a 7' leader seems to me prone to magnify any variations in your stroke. Have you tied the rod and line with a longer leader and had the same accuracy variations?

ddb

trout trekker

Reaction score
Western Portal Sequoia National Forest, Kern River
Is the lack of accuracy inherent in glass fly rods?
It probably feels like that's the case, if we're comparing it to one the modern fast action, high pixie dust* content rods. Wait until you get your first truly great grass rod....

*pixie dust: 3M powerlux aka sintrix.

Is it a casting technique I need to learn?